God Even Cares in the Small Stuff

So was fulfilled what was said through the prophets: “He [Jesus] will be called a Nazarene.” – Matthew 2:23

“Don’t sweat the small stuff.” While most people try to practice this philosophy, God doesn’t. He pays very close attention to the small details. This becomes clearly apparent when I consider God’s plan to rescue me and all people.

It would be easy to focus on only the big picture that Jesus died and rose again. Certainly this is true and very important. Still, it would lack what some of the smaller details provide. Consider the simple words: “He will be called a Nazarene.” It would be easy to dismiss this. However, the city in which Jesus lived his early life becomes important when I consider it in the context of what precedes it: “So was fulfilled what was said through the prophets.”

Jesus’ early life in Nazareth was recognized throughout his ministry. He received the title Jesus the prophet from Nazareth. He was known throughout Galilee and Judea as Jesus the miracle worker from Nazareth. He was finally crucified under the sentence, Jesus of Nazareth the King of the Jews.

God’s attention even to this small detail leads me to trust him. God is faithful in everything. Nothing escapes his divine attention or merciful care. So when I am struggling, burdened, or on the verge of despair, God knows and God provides the help I need. Even more important, I have the assurance that my rescue is complete. God did not overlook or leave even the smallest detail to chance. So when Jesus said, “It is finished,” everything that was promised and required was completed perfectly. The forgiveness of my sin, the freedom from death and the devil, the promise of life in heaven is certain – nothing was overlooked or left undone. Even the ability to trust that God has rescued me through Jesus has been given to me as a free gift of God’s love.

All this leads me to rely on the peace, joy and undeserved love of God’s merciful care. My confidence is the result of one simple truth: God pays attention to the small details.

Prayer: O gracious Lord, because you know and have all things in your control, give me the faith to trust in your care, and in the rescue you have provided through your Son, my Savior Jesus Christ. Amen.

Leave a Reply

