Your Go To Man

“I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.” – Revelation 1:8

The doctor reassures, “I’ve done hundreds of these surgeries before. Don’t worry.”

The teacher tells the concerned parents, “I’ve helped countless students with the same challenge. Don’t worry.”

Experience means something. We all feel better when a carpenter or mechanic tells us, “I’ve done this many times. It will be no problem. Don’t worry!”

The Lord God was talking to people who were worried. They weren’t worried about elections or terrorist attacks. They were worried that the Roman government would crush them and their fellow believers because they refused to worship the Roman Emperor as a god. Jesus reassured these worried believers, “I’ve taken care of believers over and over again. It will be no problem. Don’t worry!”

Alpha is the first letter in the Greek alphabet. Omega is the last letter. When Jesus said, “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” he was reminding his believers that he is the beginning and the end. He has always been here. He will always be here. He has plenty of experience helping believers with all kinds of worries: illness, stress, heartache, family fights, taxes, terrorist attacks, and even government backed persecution. Jesus has the experience, power, and love to help us no matter what worries us.

We worry because we don’t trust him. We think we’re on our own. We turn our back to his offer to help. We’re afraid his way of helping us might involve sacrifice or suffering which we don’t want to go through. So we worry and stress and get scared because we just don’t trust our Lord. He gave his own life for us. He suffered for all our sins. Yet we don’t trust him!

He keeps reassuring us, “I am the Alpha and the Omega.” “I’ve been around for a long time and helped a lot of people through tough times. I’ve given them strength. I’ve kept harm far away from them. I’ve limited how much they had to suffer. I have rescued every believer from their sufferings and trials and taken them home to heaven. I’ve seen believers through tougher times than what you’re facing. So don’t worry. You’re safe with me.”

Prayer: Jesus, we live in dangerous times. Remind me that you are the beginning and the end. You’ve seen it all and have helped millions of believers before. Fill my heart with your peace because you will always take care of me – now and forever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

