God Knows

Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. Remember, O LORD, your great mercy and love, for they are from of old. Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you are good, O LORD. – Psalm 25:4-7

Most of us have endured the “baby book moment.” When mom broke out the book and showed our friends those “cute” pictures, we were mortified! But looking back, it was only mildly embarrassing in the grand scheme of things. We realize – now – that there are far more embarrassing things than a baby picture. There are things in our past that we don’t want anyone to recall.

Imagine if God had a video of all the foolish things we did when we were young. How hard it would be to watch that, to relive all those times that we made the wrong choice! How ashamed we would be of our mistakes! But that wouldn’t even be the worst part of it. Imagine if God recorded all our thoughts, our attitude during those tumultuous teenage years! That’s a trip down memory lane that no one would like to take.

God knows all things. He knows all the sins of our youth. That’s why the psalmist prays that God won’t remember those sins as he has the right to, but instead to remember his love and mercy. And that’s just what God has done. God sent his Son Jesus to remove all those horrible sins from God’s memory. By his suffering and death, he’s purified us of all sin. So God declares, “I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more” (Hebrews 8:12). That’s where our hope rests – in God our Savior.

God is good. He will show us the right path, teach us and guide us in truth. God has already shown his goodness by his love and mercy for us. We know he won’t lead us astray. We can’t go wrong in following the ways of the LORD!

Prayer: Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. Amen.

Leave a Reply

