I Don’t Know How it Happens

Jesus said, “This is what the kingdom of God is like. A man scatters seed on the ground. Night and day, whether he sleeps or gets up, the seed sprouts and grows, though he does not know how.” – Matthew 4:26-27

“I don’t know how that happened!” Every parent has heard that many, many times. Those words might be heard after a broken toy is discovered, after a sibling is in tears, or after a mysterious stain on the carpet shows up. And “nobody” knows how it happened.

But those words are not always shared because something bad has taken place. They might also be heard because a child just made their first basket, or tied their first shoe, or rode their first two-wheeler. In those contexts, the thought is, “I don’t know how that happened, but I’m really glad it did!”

That’s similar to the kingdom of God. In our verses today, Jesus compares the Word growing in the heart like seeds growing in the ground. They are planted. They sprout. They grow. They bear fruit. The farmer doesn’t control the growth of the crops just as the Christian doesn’t control the growth of the Word. But it happens, though the planter doesn’t know how.

There was an older, non-religious man who took a basic Bible doctrine course. After a few weeks of studying the Bible, the man said, “Pastor, I know that when I started this class, I was an unbeliever that didn’t know or care about God. I only came to this class because my wife made me. I always thought that if I ever decided I wanted to become a Christian, there would be a boom of thunder and a bolt of lightning – and then, at that point, I’d know that I was a Christian. Well, I know now that Jesus died for my sins, that he loves me forever, and that I am going to live in heaven eternally. I can’t wait to get there. And I love him, too. Things have changed a lot, and I know that now I am a Christian. But I don’t know how that happened! The Holy Spirit snuck it in there on me!”

Even though we don’t know how it happens, God causes the seed of his Word to sprout and grow in the hearts of people. He brings them to saving faith in Jesus, leads them through life as his followers, and fills them with eternal hope. That’s God’s loving will for you, too. Learn his Word. Come to know the love he has for you through Jesus and you also will say, “I don’t know how that happened, but I’m really glad it did!”

Prayer: Whenever the precious seed is sown, life-giving grace bestow. That all whose souls the truth receive, its saving power may know. Amen

Leave a Reply

