Change I Can Believe In

June 3, 2013

All this I have spoken while still with you. But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. – John 14:25-27

Change. Although it is a part of life, it can either be a welcome relief or unwelcome intrusion. Regardless of my attitude toward change, it will continue to happen. So how do I decide which changes to adopt and which to resist? This is something that experience will help me answer.

Experience does show me one area where change is good and is always welcome. It is the change promised by Jesus and brought about by the Holy Spirit. Jesus promised his followers that they would see a change in their lives and a change in the way they look at life. Consider some of those changes. The Spirit would reinforce everything Jesus taught. He would provide the peace Jesus secured through his suffering and death. He would also bring about a change of heart and mind.

These changes Jesus promised through the Holy Spirit still take place. The Spirit offers them through God’s Word to open my eyes to the changes he works in me.

Through the Spirit I come to an understanding and appreciation of what Jesus did for me. Everything he accomplished, everything he taught, I now know what it means for me. Here is change. No longer am I blind and ignorant of the Lord, but I know him through faith.

Through the Spirit I enjoy the peace Jesus secured for me. I have the right relationship with God. No longer am I hostile to him and his will. I know his goodness and mercy. I have been changed. Now I have peace.

Through the Spirit I also look at life differently. The things that daily disturb me and trouble my heart God helps me overcome. The forces Satan hurls against me to make me timid and cowardly are defeated. This is change.  My heart is calm.  My soul is confident. I know the Spirit is with me, and he will always assure me of my Savior’s love and forgiveness, as well as his strength and victory.

Change when it comes from the Lord is a blessing. It leads to joy, to peace, to loving service and to faithfulness. This is change I can believe in.

Prayer:  O dearest Jesus, you have promised to work a change in my heart and in my life. Send me your Holy Spirit through God’s Word to make that change. Continue your work so that I may know your peace, your presence and your power. Amen

