Lord, Open My Eyes

 Then their eyes were opened and they recognized him – Luke 24:31

The two disciples who were on their way to Emmaus had a problem. They were blind. That blindness was not a physical disability. Rather, it was one of the heart. While they walked to their destination, they talked about the events of the past week. They discussed everything that had happened to Jesus – his suffering, death and resurrection. Unfortunately, none of it made any sense, because it didn’t match what they wanted to see.

It is a blindness which affects me. I may have an acquaintance with Jesus. I may even appreciate his commitment and the example of his life. Still, I am disappointed because I want Jesus to match my view of him. I want him to be in my life, but not too involved. I want him to be ready to help me, but only when I am in a desperate situation. I want him to be ready to guide me, but only when I am completely lost. If this is how I see Jesus, then I am just as blind as the Emmaus disciples.

This is when I need Jesus to come to my rescue, just as he came to those disciples. The Bible says that “he explained to them what was said in all the Scriptures concerning himself”(Luke 24:27). Jesus explained everything he did according to what God said he would do. He also drew them back to the upper room where he took bread, gave thanks, broke it and gave it them. In these acts of love, Jesus opened their eyes to the truth.

In humility I am thankful that Jesus does not abandon me in my blindness. He reaches out to me in love even though I have turned away from him. He offers me forgiveness even though I didn’t seek it. He opens up the Scriptures to me even though I have neglected them. Jesus even offers me a stunning picture of his loving faithfulness through the Sacrament of the Lord’s Supper.

Jesus’ sincerest desire is that my eyes are open to the great things he has done for me. He withholds nothing so that I can clearly see him and see what he has done for me. Certainly, I will have to deal with daily distractions. The devil will try to deceive me, as will the world with its disappointments. Consequently, every day I will need to rely on what the Lord has revealed to me. I will also need to pray daily:  “Lord, open my eyes!”

Prayer: O gracious Savior, through your holy Word and the gift of the Lord’s Supper, open my eyes to see you as my Savior, and as the giver of everything I need for this life and the life to come. Amen.

Leave a Reply

