Glory in Humility

The Word became flesh and lived for a while among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth. – John 1:14

Achievement and recognition, the two usually go hand in hand. Take any field of endeavor. Achievement usually leads to some kind of recognition. For the diligent student, it means better scholarship offers. For the dedicated athlete, it nets a more lucrative contract. For the ambitious employee, it results in better opportunities and compensation. Because achievement and recognition are so closely linked, it is hard to reconcile the thought of glory in humility. Few people recognize the humble or take notice of those who stand in the shadows of the lime light. Still, this is exactly what Jesus did when he came to this earth, and it is the truth to which John testifies so clearly and powerfully.

Jesus came to this earth to take on flesh and blood. He came to live with all people, and he came to live for me. He came to be my Substitute and my Savior.

I was under God’s just sentence for my sin and powerless to change the verdict. I desperately needed someone to rescue me. That someone was Jesus, and it meant he had to take my place in order to secure my release. Consequently, he subjected himself to humility by stepping down from his power and glory as God to become my servant. In serving me, he subjected himself to life on this earth, as well as the shameful death and punishment I deserved.

Here is where I see glory in humility. When Jesus gave up his power as the Son of God, it was to his glory. When Jesus endured my humility, it was to his praise. When Jesus endured the burden of my guilt, it was to proclaim the greatness of his undeserved love. From the world’s perspective this makes little sense. From God’s perspective, and for my rescue, it means everything.

I have a faithful and loving Savior. He allowed himself to be humiliated, condemned and crucified. In the process he secured my release, set me apart for heaven, and sealed his glory forever.

Although it may be hard to reconcile glory in humility, I see it accomplished in Jesus. He is the glorious Son of God. He is the humble Servant of grace and truth. He is my faithful Substitute and Savior.

Prayer: O dearest Jesus, how can I ever thank you for humbling yourself to be my Substitute and my Savior. Fill my heart with joy and thanksgiving for all you have done, and continue to do in order to bring me from this life to the glorious life you have prepared for me in heaven. Amen.
Leave a Reply

