You Are Not Alone in Faith

[Elijah] replied, “I have been very zealous for the LORD God Almighty. The Israelites have rejected your covenant, broken down your altars, and put your prophets to death with the sword. I am the only one left, and now they are trying to kill me too.” The LORD said to him… “I reserve seven thousand in Israel – all whose knees have not bowed down to Baal and all whose mouths have not kissed him.” – I Kings 19:14,15,18

Elijah was a prophet of the Lord who lived at a time when it was very difficult to be a prophet for the Lord. Elijah explains why as he says, “The Israelites have rejected your covenant, broken down your altars, and put your prophets to death with the sword. I am the only one left, and now they are trying to kill me too.” It can be hard when you think you are the only one left who believes in the true God. It can be difficult when you don’t have others who can encourage you in your life of faith. You can hear that struggle in the words of Elijah.

Imagine Elijah’s surprise when he hears the Lord say, “I reserve seven thousand in Israel – all whose knees have not bowed down to Baal and all whose mouths have not kissed him.” Elijah wasn’t alone. There were others who remained faithful to the true God. They hadn’t rejected God’s covenant. They didn’t persecute the prophets of God. They were encouraged as Elijah spoke the word of God as his prophet, and they were able to encourage Elijah through the unity they shared in their faith in the Lord.

When God called you to faith, he didn’t call you to be all alone in your faith. He also gave you brothers and sisters in Jesus who share the same faith you have. They are able to encourage you in your faith when you gather together to worship your Savior and share your joys and burdens with one another. If you do gather at a church with others, enjoy the encouragement you receive in your faith. That is the purpose of Ebenezer Lutheran Church. Look over our website and see our community of faith.

Prayer: Dearest Jesus, you made me your own when you called me to faith. Give me the strength to encourage others in their faith. Give me the opportunity to be encouraged in my faith by others. In your name I pray. Amen.
Leave a Reply

