Jesus is the Perfect Savior

Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might destroy him who holds the power of death – that is, the devil – and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death. – Hebrews 2:14-15

I write this article only a few minutes before I leave to go to my father’s funeral in Minnesota. I will meet my mother, Bernice, my brother Carl, and sisters, Lynette, Karen and Mary and all their families. We are the stoic German type, which means we will have a solid, brave look on the outside but will be crying our hearts out in the inside. Yet, we will give each other solid support. Dad had  a long life of 91 years. At that age you don’t have many peers so it will be mostly family at the funeral. He died in faith in his Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. I return to the church where I was baptized, my father was baptized and four generations before me. It was the church we would gather together for all the confirmations, funerals, and many, many celebrations around the Word and Sacrament. Many memories, many hugs and many reunions will take place. My family and I will be ministered to by mom and dad’s Pastor. I will be on the receiving end not the one who will be doing the ministering. I will be reflecting on Jesus and Him alone.

Jesus is the perfect Savior. We needed a Savior who is a human being. We needed a Savior who would submit himself to God’s law. We needed a Savior who could experience death for us. This is what Jesus did. He shared in our humanity.

Jesus is the perfect Savior. We needed a Savior who is true God. We needed a Savior who could beat death. We needed a Savior whose perfect life and innocent suffering and death would count for all people. This is what Jesus did. He is the true God who destroyed Satan and his death grip on us.

Live today, and every day, without fear of sin, death or Satan. Jesus, your perfect Savior, has freed you from their power.


Prayer: Jesus, instill in me the peace that only you can give – the peace of mind and heart that is assured by your perfect life for me and secured by your innocent death in my place. I live to honor you, my perfect Savior. Amen.

Leave a Reply

