Too Good to be True

“I am the Good Shepherd; I know my sheep.” – John 10:14

Almost daily there are advertisements that make incredible claims: “This is the best product on the market.”  “This is the most effective ever seen.”  “There is nothing that can compare with this.”  These are just a few of the claims.  Then, the offer becomes even more enticing: “Double the amount at an incredible savings.”  Finally, there is the clincher: “A 100% money back guarantee.”  Almost immediately the thought ignites: “This is too good to be true.”

Too good to be true.  Disappointment can usually be avoided when this proverb is followed.  It is a reliable rule of thumb, except in one instance.  The one exception is with Jesus.  In a very precious and picturesque way, Jesus proclaims, “I am the Good Shepherd.”  What makes this claim believable is how he backs it up.  Jesus gives more than a money back guarantee.  He even offers more than double the regular amount.  He provides solid and unmistakable proof.

Just think about the claim Jesus makes as the Good Shepherd.  When I am ignored by an impersonal world, the Good Shepherd knows me personally.  When I am rejected because of failure and disappointment, the Good Shepherd calls me his own.  When my cries for help go unanswered, the Good Shepherd responds in the best way possible.

It almost sounds too good to be true.  But it is true!  My assurance comes from what Jesus did for me, and what he daily does for me.  His work is the proof I need.  His obedient life, his willing death on the cross, his precious shed blood, his victorious resurrection, here are indisputable evidences.  My Savior-Shepherd is there for me, and he will always be there.  He even gives me his word:  “I know you.”

Although this may sound too good to be true, it is the good news Jesus established through his innocent suffering and death.  Jesus is my Good Shepherd.  He knows me, and he loves me!

Because Jesus is my Good Shepherd, I will follow him through this life.  I will also follow him to life in heaven.

Prayer: Oh precious Savior, my Lord Jesus Christ, because you gave your life for me, I am now your lamb.  Be with me.  Keep me safe in every danger.  Guide me and give me peace in knowing I am your sheep and you are my Shepherd.  Amen!


Leave a Reply

